EPIC Resources

Rangitikei District Libraries has joined with over 170 New Zealand Libraries to be apart of EPIC (Electronic Purchasing in Collaboration). EPIC gives you access to thousands of high quality electronic publications, including NZ and international full-text journals, newspapers, magazines, photographs and graphics.

Want to learn more? With your library login you can start to search!

Australia/New Zealand Reference Centre - EBSCO

The Reference Centre database gives you access to abstracts and articles from international, Australian, and New Zealand magazines and newspapers. It is an excellent resource for those requiring up-to-date world, Australian and New Zealand current events information.

Biography Resource Centre - Gale

This database contains an extensive range of contemporary and historical biographies of notable people including some New Zealanders. It is searchable by name, nationality, and occupation.

Business Reference Suite - Gale

Search across three related business and industry focussed databases:

  • Business and Industry a multi-industry database with a global focus on company, industry and product information.
  • Business and Management Practices in depth information on the processes, methods and strategies of managing a business.
  • TableBase provides access to thousands of hard-to-find tables of data for more than 90 industries.
Contemporary Women's Issues - Gale

This contains a huge range of articles and reports on women's issues from professional and popular journals, and newspapers. It can be also searched by subject, for example, gender equity.

Discovering Collection - Gale

This comprehensive database allows for searching under a range of subjects including history, literature, geography, and biographies. There is also a multimedia gallery containing photographs, graphs, maps, and sound and video clips.

Encyclopaedia Britannica Online

Search the online version of Encyclopaedia Britannica - including Britannica's Student Encyclopaedia, Elementary Encyclopaedia for younger students, and the Britannica Concise Encyclopaedia. Includes current events, pictures and links to relevant Internet resources.

Grove Art

Search and explore the full-text of this authoritative dictionary of art. It covers visual arts from painting, to graphic arts, to architecture and more!

Grove Music

Explore this full-text dictionary on all aspects of music worldwide - from classical to hip-hop and from baroque to blues.

Health and Wellness Resource Centre and Alternative Health module - Gale

This database provides authoritative answers to health and medical questions from a huge range of over 700 health/medical journals and pamphlets. It covers topics like mainstream and alternative medicines, nutrition, diet, fitness, and disease. It also includes an online medical encyclopedia and links to relevant websites.

History Resource Centre - Modern World - Gale

Search this database for 20th century history topics history relating to America. It features full text articles from over 100 history journals, and includes primary documents, maps, and images.

InfoTrac OneFile - Gale

Containing 35 million articles and updated daily, InfoTrac is an ideal general research tool with huge topic coverage from contemporary art to science. Articles are available from a wide range of overseas magazines and newspapers.

Literature Resource Center - Gale

This database contains critical essays and biographical information on over 100,000 authors, both historical and contemporary. A superb and comprehensive resource for students. It also includes information on major New Zealand authors.

MasterFILE Premier - EBSCO

This collection provides full text access to articles from over 2000 major international publications such as Time, Newsweek, and New Scientist. It also includes reference and travel works, image collection, biographies and book reviews. Covering virtually every subject area, MasterFILE is ideal for general research enquiries.

Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center - Gale

Useful database for exploring popular social issues. Opposing Viewpoints is ideal for those wanting information covering both sides of contemporary issues like the GE debate. Includes topical overviews and point-of-view articles. An excellent resource for those wishing to do in-depth investigations about major contentious topics.

Oxford English Dictionary

A searchable online version of the Oxford English Dictionary. Includes the full text of the 20-volume Second Edition, 45,000 new and revised words resulting from the editorial revision programme and at least 2,500 additional new and revised words every 3 months.

Science Journals (Proquest)

Access the fulltext of over 400 leading science and technology journals. Topics range from Acoustics, to Geology, to Zoology and everything in between!

Student Resource Center - College Edition Expanded - Gale

The Student Resource centre provides cross-curricular information suitable for senior secondary school students. Students can search topics including history, literature, geography, and biographies. Also available is a multimedia gallery containing photographs, graphs, maps, and sound and video clips.

Virtual Reference Suite

Explore a collection of encyclopedias, almanacs and reference sources. Subjects include health, war, pollution, history, space science, maths, occult, food and fashion.

What do I read next? - Gale

This excellent database helps you identify new books to read. Covers adult and young adult as well as children's fiction and nonfiction. Searching is by author, title, subject, genre, character, and topic. What Do I Read Next? also contains an extensive selection of award winning books, over 50,000 plot summaries and promotions for upcoming titles.

 

 

Please Note - By using the links you agree to the following statement:

"These databases are protected by copyright. They are provided by Rangitikei District Libraries for use by individuals who are registered Rangitikei District Libraries staff and patrons for the purposes of personal use or for research in a corporate, business, academic or government setting. By accessing these databases you agree to these terms and conditions of usage. Your continued access to and usage of these databases indicates your agreement to abide by these terms and conditions."